The Great Emergence: How Christianity Is Changing and Why, Author: Phyllis Tickle. If you are at all interested in the social/political/economic/intellectual/cultural shift that we have been going through, and its impact on Christianity: I whole-heartedly recommend this book to you.

I have read many books on post-modern Christianity, the emerging/emergent church, and church history… this book is the best one I have read. It is simultaneously comprehensive and concise. As a result of reading this book I understand this subject at a deeper level; and this is a subject I have spent a lot of time thinking about over the last 20 years of my life. In fact before I read this book I thought I had a fairly comprehensive understanding of the subject. It turns out that I was only familiar with part of it. As a Christian and as a Pastor I am simultaneously alarmed, more than a little nervous, excited, and hopeful for the implications for our culture and for both the Holy Catholic Church and for my denomination.

Leave a Reply

